Art Copyright Infringement


Helamen says, late last year, Dawn’s art dealer in Melbourne asked if one of her original abstract oil painting was how much alike the backdrop on the national tv’s news. Dawn did not get the idea from them because she painted the scene a year before we saw it on tv.

Then tonight Helamen found this article, “Art Copyright Infringement, Reproduction Rights, and Artist Careers” by Alan Bamberger 1998-2011,  link here  talking about art copyright issues which is worth considering. It is not necessary to sue anyone in some cases for money as written in this article. If the artist is being helped in having his/her art shown or advertised and been credited for it, it is ok.

So now we have to find out if the national tv has infringed Dawn’s copyright or they both came up with the same idea independently. Wish us good luck!

About Dawn Lim

I am a professional, visual artist, located at Moonambel , Victoria, Australia. I paint Abstract Paintings because I want to create not just copy, and I use oil and acrylic paint by preference, on stretched canvas. I also teach Art in all the different genres of painting and drawing eg Portraits, Landscape, still life, and Abstract art in most mediums. Born in England, I am a self-taught artist from childhood. Due to an experience of illness in my late teens I found myself in the category of an Outsider Artist. Making my home in Australia I studied painting, majoring in abstract art and graduating with honours at University. I enjoy following the Surrealist technique of making marks and seeing where they lead me, CurrentlyI I have a studio in my steel shed next to my home.
This entry was posted in Art misc and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Art Copyright Infringement

  1. Excellent post. I absolutely appreciate this
    website. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: URL

  3. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but good topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this info
    for my mission.

  4. Pingback: My Homepage

  5. A person essentially assist to make critically articles I would state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website page and to this point?
    I surprised with the research you made to create this actual post amazing.
    Magnificent process!

  6. v40DGmw07xN says:

    948816 869391Exceptional post even so , I was wanting to know in case you could write a litte far more on this subject? I’d be quite thankful in case you could elaborate slightly bit far more. Thanks! 50548

  7. u Haul says:

    Someone essentially assist to make seriously posts I would state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your website page and to
    this point? I amazed with the analysis you made to create
    this particular publish incredible. Great process!

  8. I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also visit this webpage on regular basis to take updated from most up-to-date information.

  9. I blog frequently and I really thank you for your
    information. Your article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to book mark your website and keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

  10. Ahaa, its pleasant dialogue on the topic of this post at this place at this weblog, I
    have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

  11. Just wish to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity in your post is simply excellent and
    i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

    • Dawn Lim says:

      My husband webmaster formulates most of my blog posts and dabbles in SEO, he’s a computer nerd. Thanks for your comments. We appreciate them very much.

  12. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for
    bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my
    Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

    • Dawn Lim says:

      I haven’t thought about donate button, I am just writing for the betterment of all artists as I support my artist-wife. thanks for all your comments. We appreciate them very much. We are thrilled to read them! cheers, Chai.

  13. After I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments
    are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a comment is
    added I receive 4 emails with the same comment.
    Perhaps there is an easy method you are able to remove me from
    that service? Thanks a lot!

  14. Hello there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

    • Dawn Lim says:

      yes plugins are mostly for premium paid wordpress.org or themes for wordpress.com
      what you can do is to moderate your comments and you can build rules for your comments in dashboard.
      hope this helps

  15. I believe what you typed was actually very reasonable.
    But, consider this, what if you were to create a killer title?
    I am not saying your content isn’t good, but what if you added a headline to possibly get folk’s attention?
    I mean Art Copyright Infringement | Outsider Art-Dawn Lim is kinda
    vanilla. You should glance at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they create news titles to get people to open the links. You might add a related video or a related pic or two to get people excited about what you’ve written.

    In my opinion, it would make your posts a little livelier.

  16. What i don’t realize is in fact how you’re not really much more well-favored
    than you may be now. You’re very intelligent. You know therefore considerably in the case of this subject, made me in my view consider it from so many various angles. Its like women and men aren’t
    involved except it’s something to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your own stuffs excellent. Always take care of it up!

  17. Tarah says:

    Admiring the persistence you put into your site and detailed information you provide.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t
    the same unwanted rehashed material. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to
    my Google account.

  18. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with helpful information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our whole community shall be grateful to you.

  19. I do accept as true with all of the ideas you’ve introduced in your post. They’re very convincing
    and will definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts
    are very short for newbies. May just you please lengthen them
    a bit from next time? Thank you for the post.

    • Dawn Lim says:

      helamen reply yes, I do admit the posts are very short, I think is because both of us suffer from language delays and difficulties from our illnesses which is another story! I fall into the category of short and sweet or short and sharp. Really I rather tweet than write a thesis even though I have written one.

  20. uhaul says:

    If some one needs to be updated with most up-to-date technologies therefore
    he must be pay a quick visit this web page and
    be up to date every day.

  21. When someone writes an piece of writing he/she keeps the idea of a user in his/her brain
    that how a user can be aware of it. Therefore that’s why this piece of writing is outstdanding. Thanks!

  22. This paragraph is really a nice one it assists new web visitors, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  23. First off I would like to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I’ve
    had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying to figure
    out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints?
    Thank you!

    • helamen says:

      thank you for your comments.
      It is hard to write a killer blog. I usually do a brainstorm first, writing down killer titles, whatever comes to mind, just what I would like to talk about. I keep updating my list once a day. There are some very good blogger out there who gets more clicks thru than me. I am really small fish compared with them.

  24. I wanted to thank you for this wonderful read!! I absolutely
    enjoyed every little bit of it. I have you book-marked to check out new things
    you post…

Comments are closed.